Be always a blessing to others

I heard this line so many times, but I never really thought about it. It just passed through my ears, maybe because I am busy or I am not the one particularly being told about it. Now, I want to give a deeper meaning of this thought based upon my own interpretation.

We are hooked in this world of “busy” people whether we like it or not. Busy making a living, busy concerning family, busy looking for something we really don’t know and just merely busy pretending we are busy. In short, we care less about other people except our own family.

Stressed, tension, pressure and community are some of the causes while we are being ‘burnout’. Have you ever experienced getting mad at  simple things like, not finding a pair of socks, answering some easy questions, someone incidentally bumped on you or someone ask a simple favor on you? If that is the case, you are already burnout and most of the time, we said the worst thing and did the stupidiest thing we are not capable of doing when we are in a light mood. and bang! the damage has been done.

Then we heard somebody say, “okay, I understand. Just have a deep breathe and forget I ask about it.” But we know they have been hurt. Or let me put it this way, you are in the other shoe and you ask a little favor then you were being hit by the “unexpected outburst”. You may say, “he can either answer me a simple yes or no and the matter is close, instead of unloading all of his burden….” So you see, finally you both end up having hard moment.

When we are at the edge of getting burnout, it’s not easy to hold our temper, that’s very true. But we know we must. Unless, you don’t care enough for others’ feelings. There is nothing to be loss in our part if we consider others first before ourselves (but we must put a limitation somewhere or else, we ended up being a victim of situations or being abused of our kindness). If I said this words to him, how will he be affected? If I turn him down with this simple favor, how would he feel? If I were in his position, what would I expect? These are some questions we need to think first before “the volcano” inside us erupts.

I always feel the blessing of the famous phrase, “It’s better to give than to receive”. Every time I see the smile and silent appreciation of the recipient of my good deed, it double the happiness I feel inside of me.

Let me share you these paradox.


Mother Teresa also loved The Paradoxical Commandments, by Dr Kent M. Keith.

People are illogical, unreasonable, and self-centered.
Love them anyway.

If you do good, people will accuse you of selfish ulterior motives.
Do good anyway.

If you are successful, you will win false friends and true enemies.
Succeed anyway.

The good you do today will be forgotten tomorrow.
Do good anyway.

Honesty and frankness make you vulnerable.
Be honest and frank anyway.

The biggest men and women with the biggest ideas can be shot down by the smallest men and women with the smallest minds.
Think big anyway.

People favor underdogs but follow only top dogs.
Fight for a few underdogs anyway.

What you spend years building may be destroyed overnight.
Build anyway.

People really need help but may attack you if you do help them.
Help people anyway.

Give the world the best you have and you’ll get kicked in the teeth.
Give the world the best you have anyway.

Have a blessed day to all of us.

2 Responses

  1. …dropping by to say Happy Halloween! 🙂

    Fine opinion indeed. I agree with you and I always believe that all good things we do good or bad, will be back to us ten folds. We call it “KARMA” 🙂

  2. You already saw it hehe. Yup, we both shared almost the same principle, so we know the feelings. Awooooooooooohhhhhhh happy All Souls Day!

Leave a Reply

