Conquering Mt. Pinatubo takes a lot of courage.

How can I forget February 6, 2009. This is the day that I conquered Mount Pinatubo. My friend Juliet invited me long ago to come trekking with her guests, but my schedules didn’t allow me to do so. Last February 4,  she and her husband Robin visited me in my home and open up the topic again. There are three guests that they will accompany in Mt. Pinatubo but they had another batch of trekkers coming the next day. So they ask me to go with their oldest daughter Jessica (14-year-old teen).

You ask me why I didn’t blog it right away? Come guys, give the exhausted fellow time to rest (lol)

We pick up our guests to Capas with van up to Santa Juliana. The entry point where we register and the station of 4×4 jeep we ride. Bryan, the Filipino guy and his two friends, Erine (American) and Frankie (UK). They are so cool and not snobbish, although occasionally I am finding my English (it’s different when you are writing than actual talking especially with different accent) I survived entertaining the guys, with Jessica’s effort too.

Our guests, Bryan, Frankie and Erine

Our guests, Bryan, Frankie and Erine

Before we ride 4x4, so you see, I still look fresh here

Before we ride 4x4, so you see, I still look fresh here

The 4×4 travelled more or less an hour to bring us in the trekking point. They can no longer drive with the narrow paths and rocky terrains.  The scenery is great and I find it first coping with them with no efforts, but after some times of walking, I feel really exhausted. Our local guide never seem to get tired. He just continue walking without a single glance to us.

Here's Jessica while we are riding the 4x4

Here's Jessica while we are riding the 4x4

The first mistake I committed was having a heavy backpack. Every time I walked uphill, it seem to pull me. When I can no longer take it, I politely asked our ‘Manong’ to carry my backpack. Bryan feel the same too, so he gave the bag he was carrying then. I feel somewhat relieve. We just took a short break when we reached the little falls where there is a pipe we can drink. We took the ‘Skyway’ and it lessen our time from 2 hours to almost an hour. When we finally reach the Mt. Pinatubo crater, wow it feels great! Jessica is very proud of her achievement, being the what she calls it ’14-year-old conqueror’. She was so excited and can’t find words to describe the scenery. We were there at 9:10 AM, plenty of time to spend swimming. We took rest and eat our lunch before everyone decided to swam on the crater. They said it is a fresh water, but actually the water is a little bit salty, but not as salty as sea.

Here's the starting point for long walks

Here's the starting point for long walks

We cross a lot of small creeks

We cross a lot of small creeks

The falls where you can have a cold drink

The falls where you can have a cold drink

Yahooo! at last the Mt. Pinatubo Crate

Yahooo! at last the Mt. Pinatubo Crate

With some playful acts, everybody enjoyed the cold water. There are some foreigners too, who like us, wanted to see the famous Mt. Pinatubo. While we are resting, I know that something was wrong with my left knee, the knee that I occasionally feel discomfort from time to time. My second mistake is doing the long trekking without any exercise and warming up. I spent most of my time in computer and sometimes walking will not be considered a healthy alternative for having strong resistance. I jokingly told them that the only thing that made me going and exiting the site is my will-power and pride. I don’t want to be the cause of delay and any trouble with my companions. But I am telling you, I cry deep inside whenever there were downhills we encountered because of my aching knee. I tried every possible step, robotic, walking  with my feet throwing outside and inside, just to feel a little comfort. The stairs leading to the crate was one of the hardest walk every one of us experienced.

To those who love some adventure and trekking, I tell you, you will enjoy your experience here. Just follow some basic guidelines of dos and don’ts of trekking.

After the long walk, you will find the Spa town in Santa Juliana waiting for you to give a soothing and relaxing Thai massage and volcanic ash spa.I know I go to Mt. Pinatubo again and I will prepare for it.

For those who are interested to book trekking, please contact this site : www.pinatubotrek.blogspot.com and contact Ms. Juliet Corpuz. She will surely give you a great deal.

At last I conquered Mt. Pinatubo!

After a month, I returned to Mt. Pinatubo and the trekking time is lessen by almost 50% due to the road improvement. I enjoy the experience this time.

One Response

  1. Another Great post, I will be sure to bookmark this post in my Del.icio.us account. Have a awesome evening.

Leave a Reply

